When you draw a card....

A forum for development and investigation of ideas. Not for short questions...then Use Tarot Forum.

Moderators: eye_of_tiger, shalimar123, TarotModerator

AeraCrescent

When you draw a card....

Post by AeraCrescent » Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:45 am

I have read people use different methods to draw tarot cards. Some just draw from the top of the deck, some fan the cards out and choose, some choose from the 'center pile' depending on what kind of spread they are doing (like if they are just learning and are doing a 'card for the day' or a '3 card spread'.

I go through the cards (face down of course!) and I 'feel' them. I set aside the ones that don't 'feel like anything' Sometimes I "hesitate' on one, and I may choose it for the spread. Sometimes I put it in the 'not now' pile for the card I am trying to draw.

When I 'find' the card I am trying to draw, it 'feels' different. It 'feels' more 'solid' It feels 'right'. Does that make sense? I am just beginning in tarot, but I am not completely new to it as I grew up with it a little bit.

Does anyone else have this experience? How do you choose the card you are drawing?
I experiement with some spreads that are supposed to tell you about your 'day' or 'mood' and they are coming up fairly accurate by this method.
Am I naturally intuitive at picking cards? I feel like I have a hard time interpreting cards and reading complex spreads though. But I feel as though I can pick them. So maybe I would be best at reading for other people... so they would understand what the cards meant for them, because sometimes I don't understand what a card means for me right away... until the event is actually happening... then I am like: "OH! this card mentioned this 2 days ago!"