Reading for myself - comments anyone?

For Tarot discussions and general questions.

Moderators: eye_of_tiger, shalimar123, TarotModerator

Cyprine

Reading for myself - comments anyone?

Post by Cyprine » Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:18 pm

Hi everyone! Newbie here!  Let me introduce my experience with Tarot quickly.  I've always loved the tarot: the art & imagery, the flexibility of it to describe various situations in life so generally & succinctly all at once.  It is so versatile and portable that I am always in awe of what it can do.  I would love to be a collector and maybe one day (online/preferably IRL) operate a tarot museum of sorts.  Just let the different cards & people soak up each others' energies.  My current collection consists of only 8 decks.  :(

I never quite memorized the meaning of the cards so I am not great at reading.  Although everytime I do a reading for myself when in need of some direction or outlook, after slowly looking up the interpretations, I can say that 75% of the time they are spot on and that's good enough for me.

Did a 5 card quickie draw on my way to work (in the car...). That time in the morning when my mind snaps from sleepy-drowsy to alert & awake seems to be the best time for revelations and readings too apparently.  It was a casual "what's up for me in the next little while" type of spread.  I simply decided it would be 5 cards only, what each consecutive card would represent and drew the cards blind after shuffling the deck.  I wrote them down on my phone and looked up the meanings on the MB-Tarot site after I got to work.  Perhaps someone else here would like to comment:

BG on myself:
- mid-20's Scorpio
- halted a start of successful creative career path at beginning of 2007
- been a temp at a mindless but steady job for a year, company has offered many times to take me on full-time but I was always hesitant
- in a now steady but once tumultuous, long term relationship with an Aquarius whom I love deeply