Sun symbol

Symbology and symbolism has always played a great role in the esoteric's sphere of life. Discuss everything about symbols here.

Moderators: eye_of_tiger, shalimar123

fire_and_ashez

Sun symbol

Post by fire_and_ashez » Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:59 pm

I'm still fairly new to mysticboard and never realized there was a section for symbols, so I actually saw this symbol in a dream a couple months ago.

It was a white sheet of paper with 12 sun symbols on it(Circle with a dot.) Each one was a different color, but they were all uniform and linear. 3 columns with 4 rows. anyone have any ideas what this could mean?

I searched about the circle with a dot symbol and came up with a few interesting interpertations, but I was hoping someone could understand it as a whole, including the colors and why there were 12. I don't remember the exact colors of each sun symbol, but I don't remember there being a pattern or it going in a color spectrum. Ex. red, yellow, purple, orange, blue, green. It was very random.

Here are a few things I found on the symbol from various websites:

1.) The point or dot represents matter and the circle, spirit. Or, here is the ultimate symbol of a cycle, full expansion (circle) and complete contraction (dot). This is the symbol of the most powerful heavenly body we know anything about, the Sun, source of all light and warmth.

2.) Death, being the opposite of the blank circle of life, is shaded in, giving rise to the dark circle as its own pictograph. When this dark circle is reduced in size and placed within the pictograph of a living thing, it then denotes its death. What would it mean, then, to place the dark circle (the thick black dot) within the circle of life?